Wedding Dress Washing Tutorial

It has been 6 months since I got married, and at least 4 months since I last posted on my blog. Married life has been busy!

After starting a job as a Wedding Coordinator in Cyprus, I have become otherwise distracted and it’s time to get back to blogging!

This post is long over due, but I thought it might be helpful for those of you wondering if/how to wash your chiffon wedding dress (or any chiffon dress). Like most brides, I’m sure, I woke up the day after the wedding to a blackened dress with a few splotches and stains here and there, that smelt of spilled white wine, and had various foot prints on the train! I wasn’t overly concerned with the state of my dress, as I assumed that was what might happen, and it was only ever going to be worn once, but I still wanted to clean it and keep it.

What You Will Need:

– old toothbrush

– soap (I used Palmolive shower gel)

– hot soapy bath

PLEASE NOTE: I can not guarantee that this will be successful on all chiffon dresses, and should be properly researched before cleaning dresses of other materials – please only attempt this at your own risk. If you have a very expensive wedding dress – please take it to a dry cleaner!

I tried to find some tutorials online, but of course every wedding dress is different and unique, and as my dress didn’t cost a fortune to begin with, I thought I may as well clean it myself, rather than send it to a dry cleaner. I took advice from the lady who altered my dress, and decided to plunge the entire dress (lace, boned bodice, beaded belt and everything) straight into a warm/hot soapy bath.

ImageI started with the skirt first to try and get as much dirt off of it as possible. Unfortunately most of the dirt was stuck in the sewn hem of the lining, which turned out to be more tricky, so I scrubbed at it with a soapy toothbrush for quite awhile, rinsing it in between. I also scrubbed any marks on the skirt area with the toothbrush, and managed to get most of them out.

After letting it soak for about 20 minutes, I decided to plunge the bodice into the bath as well (it was in need of a good clean after several glasses of white wine accidentally got thrown on it on the dance floor!) and left it to soak for another 20 minutes.

Image

It was more difficult to clean the bodice, as it was made from a delicate lace that couldn’t be so easily scrubbed, and I found it better to continuously dunk the whole dress in and out of the bath several times, before lightly scrubbing over the bodice with soap and a toothbrush, and then again dunking it to rinse it off. As the dress was lined as well, and had a lot of material, it took several baths of clean water, and numerous dunking to rinse the dress thoroughly.

The entire process took me all day, between letting the dress soak, scrubbing (this took a very long time) emptying baths, refilling and rinsing – but I was very pleased with the outcome and , aside from slightly grey tinging (hardly noticeable) around some of the hem line from dirt that was caught in the thread, itΒ  came out looking almost brand new (although it does seem like the bodice material has been stretched a bit so I doubt it will fit properly again)!

After thoroughly rinsing it, I then hung it on a clothes hanger for the next 24 hours, and let it dry.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

