The Pinterest & Etsy Bride

[Follow me on Pinterest]

One of the first things I did, during our first week of engagement, was go PINTEREST crazy! Creating a Wedding Pinboard on Pinterest is an excellent way to gather all of your ideas – dresses you love, colour schemes, cakes, shoes, make up…everything. I literally spent hours on end scrolling through Wedding boards from people all over the World, and it becomes an addiction and obsession – the perfect way to let your mind wander and build up your dream wedding. It’s also a great way to let your friends (and my bridesmaids!) see your wedding ideas and contribute theirs too!

A selection of my own Wedding Pins on Pinterest:

Warning (highly addictive): Once entering the Pinterest website, do not expect to leave your computer for several hours, days, weeks.

mint wedding

resort 2013  Reem AcraBeach wedding dress

Seafoam Sangria #specialtydrink #wedding #cocktail

Green green green...

:)

~Add me to your Etsy Circle~

Click to check out  on Etsy

ETSY is another of my favourite website discoveries that I absolutely LOVE!  I first found out about it when I began my online handmade jewelry collection – marineblue. This website is solely for handmade or antique products, and anyone can begin their very own online shop through the site. It is also a fantastic place to find lovely, unique, low cost wedding decor, invitations, accessories, jewelry, rings and even dresses! Etsy is, in fact, where I ordered my very own wedding dress from.

Wedding dresses can be so expensive today and I, personally, can not justify spending $1000’s on a dress that I’ll only wear for several hours and then put away for the next 20 years to maybe one day pass on to my daughter (who will probably think it old fashioned by that time) –  so, after discovering that many of the cheaper wedding dress sites out there don’t appear completely legit (and have terrible reviews), I decided I may as well choose a dress maker and designer on Etsy who can handmake my dress exactly to my requirements, using my very own design at a fraction of the price of any other wedding dress out there.

I found a wedding dress on a website that I really loved and sent it to my chosen Etsy designer with a few adjustments and additions, to make the dress completely unique for my big day.

Fay, the designer I chose on Etsy, was excellent in communicating  the exact requirements of my dress; sending me through a sketch and after discussing fabrics, I made the payment, sent through all of my measurements that she had asked for and anxiously waited the 2-4 weeks for my dress to arrive (worrying I may have just wasted $300 on a dress I had never seen and a tailor on the other side of the World). The chiffon beach dress was absolutely perfect (aside from being a little too big – which is actually quite good so that it can be altered perfectly later on) and exactly what I was hoping it to be.

I also love the wedding sashes available on Etsy (many of which can also be custom made), and I purchased a beautiful one, by Yve Young (Yves Bella Brides), to add some detail to my simplistic wedding dress.
If you are thinking about searching for a dress on Etsy, I can highly recommend Fay from Panda and Shamrock (of course this depends on the type of dress you are looking for). I am skeptical about posting a photo of my wedding dress incase my fiancé wanders across it! However, you must take a look at the dresses by Panda and Shamrock below (Fay can custom make the design of your choice) and some other of my favourite bits and pieces on Etsy – Weddings:

[Please click on the images to take you to their website]

Panda and Shamrock

Yves Bella Brides

Other favourites….

Leave a Reply

